Free Case Evaluation
  • Name:
  • Email:
  • Telephone:
  • Court Location:
  • Type of Offense:

  • Please provide a brief description of your offense:











Virginia DUI First Offense

Get the Flash Player to see this player.

Like other criminal convictions, the penalties are determined by such factors as the specifics surrounding your case as well as your criminal record. If this is your first DUI offense, the minimum fine is $250 with a maximum of $2500.

In Virginia, this is a Class I misdemeanor and you can receive up to 1 year in jail. There is no mandatory minimum jail sentence. If you had an elevated blood alcohol content level of .15 or higher there is a mandatory minimum 5-day jail sentence. If your BAC was .21 or higher, the mandatory minimum jail sentence is 10 days.

Your license will be revoked for 1 year and the state requires you to enroll in the Alcohol Safety Action Program. Immediately following your DUI arrest, your license will be suspended for 7 days. This is in addition to your 1-year revocation.

Since this is a first offense DUI, you may be eligible for a restricted license. You will be limited to driving to and from work, school, the alcohol safety program and to receive medical treatment. Some judges in Northern Virginia require you to wait 30 days before you receive a restricted license.

Please contact the Boone Beale law firm for more information about your first DUI offense.


BOONE BEALE'S TALENTED TEAM OF ATTORNEYS CAN ASSIST YOU WITH THE APPLICATION PROCESS. CONTACT US AT ANY OF THE FOLLOWING NUMBERS:

NORTHERN VIRGINIA:
CENTRAL VIRGINIA:
TIDEWATER AREA:
703-690-1222
804-780-1111
757-351-0808

CALL US, WE CAN HELP!